|(34 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)|
Salemtb2. jpg |+|
Prior to this, in 1894, construction was started on [[ Oregon State Tuberculosis Hospital| a building designated to be the Oregon State Deaf-Mute School]], and was so occupied during the years of 1896 and 1897, but because of the inability to transport supplies over the nearly non- existent roads this building southeast of Salem was abandoned. After the Legislature enacted the laws for a sanatorium for treatment of the tubercular, one of the senators of that time saw this site , nestled in the foothills with available buildings , and action was taken to utilize this for the proposed Oregon State Tuberculosis Hospital. |+|
|Body= [[|]], was the , ofthe-. the , the site the buildingswas .
Revision as of 03:38, 8 December 2019
Featured Image Of The Week
, also referred to as Padova City, was the “King Edward VII Tuberculosis Sanatorium”. The area itself was named “Tranquille” after the Indian Chief “Sanquil”. Tuberculosis or consumption or the white plague, was an epidemic at turn-of-the-century. The land just outside Kamloops city limits, where the North and South Thompson meet and flow into Kamloops Lake, was purchased in 1905 and the tuberculosis hospital began taking patients by 1907. The site is approximately 191 acres and by the 1950s had at least 40 buildings. Tranquille was operated as a tuberculosis sanatorium from its inception until 1958 when it was closed.